Beta Comments

We are entering the final stage of BCM325 having just posted our Betas, and once again I have responded to three of my peers Betas with some feedback I thought would be helpful for their projects. For the second commenting, I have commented on three new peers, to engage with new people and contribute my own thoughts.

Comment 1 – Charlea Schembri

For my comment on Charlea’s Beta, I decided to focus on the concept that her Digital Artefact is based around, suggesting that she could condense her idea and combine the two topics she planned on looking at as they could work well together rather than as two separate ideas. I also spoke about how her ideas of creating digital fashion filters relates back to the screenings of Ready Player One and The Matrix.

Comment 2 – Michaela Shales

My comment to Michaela focused on how users of the social media platform Tik Tok often follow trends and like to repeat the same trends, which Tik Tok makes easy to do, therefore feeling popular by doing so. I also spoke about how UOW and Universities in Sydney also have Tik Tok accounts, and that by engaging with any of these accounts, Michaela could find a larger audience of students that may follow and engage with what she is doing.

Comment 3 – Lorena Farreras

When commenting on Lorena’s Beta, I chose to relate the screenings we have watched, particularly 2001: A Space Odyssey. I suggested a few different approaches for her Digital Artefact, such as comparing Bowie’s depictions of the future to the screenings we’ve watched or other media from that time, or whether Bowie’s portrayal is realistic.

Reflection

Having already completed one set of comments, I came into this set of comments more relaxed and prepared than the previous comments. These comments have been quite rewarding for me, as I have learnt about a variety of topics, and I believe I have left valuable feedback for my peers.

I am not particularly knowledgable on the topic of fashion and the role the media plays in the fashion industry and therefore I needed to do some background research, which I linked for Charlea to read, which helped me understand her project. I tried to structure all of my comments the same – give feedback on the presentation and aesthetics side of their Beta, then give feedback regarding what they’re doing/how they’re doing it, then finally link to an article, screening or lecture. Although I believe my comments have provided valuable feedback and information to my peers, and this set of comments is an improvement over my pitch comments, I feel that my ability to link to the lecture material in particular was lacking and could use improvement.

Commenting on my peers’ beta posts has provided me with insights into what I may be lacking in my digital artefact and moving into the final period of the subject, with the contextual essay growing closer, it is something I plan on improving in my final assessment. Without these comments I wouldn’t have realised my lack of lecture engagement and therefore I will be more inclined to use this moving forward.

Leave a comment